Home / PRESS RELEASE / ENGLISH VERSION / Minister for MEIDECC hands over the Chairmanship at the opening of the 8th Polynesian Leaders Group Meeting’

Minister for MEIDECC hands over the Chairmanship at the opening of the 8th Polynesian Leaders Group Meeting’

E-mail Print PDF

03rd July 2018 Following the two-day Climate Change Sautalaga [discussion], his Hon. Poasi Mataele Tei, Minister for MEIDECC, acting as Chair of the PLG on behalf of Hon. PM ‘Akilisi Pohiva, officially handed over the chairmanship to Hon. Enele Sosene Sopoanga, Prime Minister of Tuvalu during the 8th Meeting of the Polynesian Leaders Group convened in Funafuti, Tuvalu.

Hon. Minister addressed the PLG with heartwarming words of unity in stating that ‘as a people historically bound together through culture, heritage, language, and family connectivity we the people of Polynesia conquered the worlds greatest ocean evidenced by what the world now refers to as the Polynesian Triangle’.

He also commended the work already conducted in previous installments of the PLG and looked forward to further progress in stating that; ‘the people of Polynesia, the people of the Canoe, should again call forth our strength, our endurance, our tenacity, and through brotherhood we can and will conquer climate change, the greatest threat to our very existence’.

The theme for the 8th Polynesian Leaders Group is ‘Protecting the Pacific’ with focused discussions centred on the PLG priorities; Sustainable Development Goals, Climate Change and Oceans, Tourism & Regional Aviation, Connectivity, Infrastructure, Innovation, ICT, and Transport.

A high point during the meeting was discussions on the inclusion of new membership to the Polynesian Leaders Group by the people s of Maori Aotearoa, Hawai’i, and Rapa Nui.

The main highlight of the Polynesian Leaders Group Meeting was the signing of the ‘Amatuku Declaration on Climate Change and Oceans’.

The Hon. Minister was accompanied by the Director for MEIDECC’s Corporate Services Department, Mr. Vatulele Tuputupu, MEIDECC’s Principal Climate Finance Analyst, Department of Climate Change, Mr. Sione Talolakepa Fulivai and Legal Officer from the Prime Minister’s Office, Ms. Elisapeta Lemoto.


Issued by the Ministry of Meteorology, Energy, Information, Disaster Management, Environment, Climate Change and Communications


Who's Online

We have 362 guests online