Home / PRESS RELEASE / ENGLISH VERSION / Tonga hosts the Fourth Meeting of the Pacific Geospatial and Surveying Council (PGSC)

Tonga hosts the Fourth Meeting of the Pacific Geospatial and Surveying Council (PGSC)

E-mail Print PDF

09th April, 2018 More than 20 delegates from the Pacific Island region convened at Tano’a International Dateline Hotel today for the Fourth Meeting of the Pacific Geospatial and Surveying Council (PGSC).

The four-day meeting is hosted by the Ministry of Lands, Survey and Natural Resources (MLNR) aiming to provide a regional network and forum for the Pacific Island geospatial information and survey authorities to address regional challenges.

Minister for Justice and Prisons, Hon. Sione Vuna Fa’otusia said the council provides a mechanism for regional issues to be considered and addressed where geo-spatial and surveying services are concerned.

Hon. Fa’otusia said that some of the critical issues that the council focuses on include capacity building, professional and technical standards of services engagement and products, informing economic development and natural resources management decisions.

He said that the role of geospatial and surveying are critical to response and recovery following natural disasters.

“I can attest to that that with Tonga’s experiences through 2 recent and devastating tropical cyclones. I must comment the Council for promoting and fostering a regional Pacific approach to harnessing technical expertise and experience to address our regional challenges.”

The PGSC Strategy 2017-2027 to guide and direct the Council and its members for the next decade will be launched tomorrow evening by the Prime Minister of Tonga Hon. Samuela ‘Akilisi Pohiva.

A Memorandum of Understanding was also signed by officials from the Pacific Geospatial and Surveying Council with New Zealand Institute of Surveyors (NZIS), around coordination, communication and collaboration of activities as well as sharing resources and applications of location information through regional and global partnerships.

Participating members include: Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.


Issued by the: Ministry of Meteorology, Energy, Information, Disaster Management, Environment, Climate Change & Communications.


Who's Online

We have 286 guests online