The Tongan Judicial

E-mail Print PDF

The third form of Government is the Judicial.

Tonga's court system consists of the Court of Appeal (Privy Council), the Supreme Court, the Magistrates' Court, and the Land Court. Judges are appointed by the monarch.  Supreme Court (judges are appointed by the monarch); Court of Appeal (Chief Justice and high court justices from overseas chosen and approved by Privy Council)

MINISTRY OF JUSTICE - The Ministry of Justice was established to oversee the administration of justice through the courts of law.  Its mission is to provide, promote, support and protect an independent judiciary.

  • Minister for Justice - Hon. Clive Edwards
  • Secretary for Justice - Ms. Susana Faletau
  • Chief Registrar - Manakovi Pahulu
  • Chief Justice - Lord Chief Justice Michael Dishingtin-Scott
  • Courts Judges - Supreme Court Judge - Justice Charles Cato; Police Magistrates Judges - Salesi Mafi, Folau Lokotui


  • Lord Chancellor - Mr Albert Harison Waalkens Esquire K.C. (Interim)

CROWN LAW DEPARTMENT - Since 1988, the role of the Crown Law Department  has been to provide to His Majesty's Government with the traditional legal services provided by the Law Officers, including legal advice, litigation (prosecutions, and civil and land matters), and legislative drafting.

  • Attorney General - Mr. Neil Adsett
  • Solicitor General - Mr. 'Aminiasi Kefu
  • Assistant Senior Crown Counsel - Mr. Sione Sisifa
  • Crown Counsels - James Lutui; Annis Finau; Elisapeti Lavakei'aho Langi;
  • Assistant Crown Counsel -Juliana Lafaiali'i Lutui; Joan Puloka; Silivia Atiola; Leotrina Macomber

LAW LORDS - Members of the Privy Council

  • Lord Dalgety (President) ; Lord Tupou ; Lord Tufui ; Lord Madraiwiwi


  • Mr. Laki Niu (President)
Last Updated ( Thursday, 13 September 2012 22:19 )  

Who's Online

We have 513 guests online