Cabinet - Executive Branch of Government of Tonga

E-mail Print PDF

THE CABINET  See Photo Profile

Cabinet is the centre of the "management of government".

The Cabinet is the executive branch of government, and in accordance with clause 41 the Ministers meet collectively in Cabinet to consider the business of government. They are chosen from amongst the members of the Legislative Assembly, except for any appointed Ministers who, on appointment, become members of the Legislative Assembly

Relationship and role of Cabinet in Government and the Country as a whole.

Its relationships with the other parts of government are both practical and constitutional.

  • the Legislature with the Monarch;
  • the Public Service with the Monarch;
  • the Public Service with the Legislature;
  • the Judiciary with the Monarch; and
  • the people and the Kingdom of Tonga with the outside world underinternational law.

This connecting role of Cabinet in the governmental system means that a document setting out conventions, working principles and relationships between key institutions of government is of considerable constitutional significance.

Members of His Majesty's Cabinet

  • Head of Cabinet - The Prime Minister, Hon. Samiuela 'Akilisi Pohiva - Minister for Foreign Affairs
  • Deputy Prime Minister - Hon. Semisi Lafu Kioa Sika - Minister for Infrastructure and Tourism
  • Minister for Lands & Natural Resources and Minister for His Majesty's Armed Forces -  Lord Ma'afu Tukui'aulahi
  • Minister for Finance and National Planning - Hon. Dr. Pohiva Tu'i'onetoa
  • Minister for Health and Minister for Public Enterprises - Saia Ma'u Piukala
  • Minister for Education and Training - Hon. Penisimani 'Epenisa Fifita
  • Minister for Agriculture, Food, Forests, and Fisheries - Hon. Semisi Tauelangi Fakahau
  • Minister for Justice and Minister for Prisons - Hon. Sione Vuna Fa'otusia
  • Minister for Revenue & Customs and Minister for Police & Fire Services - Hon. Mateni Tapueluelu
  • Minister for Meteorology, Energy, Information, Disaster Management, Environment, Climate Changes and Communications- Hon. Poasi Mataele Tei
  • Minister for Internal Affairs - Hon. 'Akosita Lavulavu
  • Minister for Commerce, Consumer, Trade, Innovation, and Labour - Hon. Dr. Tevita Tu'i Uata

Secretariat for the Cabinet is the Chief Secretary and Secretary to Cabinet - Dr Palenitina Langa'oi Tiueti


Who's Online

We have 480 guests online