Home / NEWS TODAY / Press Releases English / MEIDECC inaugurates Hihifo Coastal Committee

MEIDECC inaugurates Hihifo Coastal Committee

E-mail Print PDF

14th June, 2017 The Ministry of Meteorology, Energy, Information, Disaster Management, Environment, Climate Change and Communications (MEIDECC) has successfully established the Hihifo Coastal Committee under the EU funded GIZ ACSE Project on Friday last week during a stakeholders meeting with representatives from the six coastal communities of Fo’ui, Ha’avakatolo, Kolovai, ‘Ahau, Kanokupolu and Ha’atafu held at the Climate Change Department’s Conference Room.

The Hihifo Coastal Committee was established to provide a link between Government, the GIZ ACSE project and with the six coastal communities.  It provides an advisory role specifically on conservation, rehabilitation and management of the coastal zone, including its resources and biological diversity.

It also encourages the enhancement of knowledge of coastal resources and the effect of human activities on the coastal zone.

GIZ ACSE Project’s In-Country Coordinator Mr. Manu Manuofetoa expressed his gratefulness for the enthusiasm and willingness shown by the committee members to participate and take action in order to protect their coast from the adverse impacts of climate change particularly – inundation and erosion. He said that the project is for the community and their involvement in the implementation of the project activities is crucial for its success.

The Tongatapu People’s Representative No.5 Dr. ‘Aisake Eke thanked the Director of Climate Change, Lu’isa Tu’i’afitu Malolo and the GIZ ACSE team for the thought of helping the coastal communities and for initiating the spirit of being inclusive as well as working in partnership amongst the committee and the government.

Mr. Sione Manumanu (Hihifo District Officer) was selected as the Chair of the Committee assisted by the Kolovai Town Officer, Luisi Fifita. The ACSE Project’s Education Officer, Mrs Fololita Takau-Sila was selected as the Secretary assisted by Moeaki ‘Ohuafi from Kolovai while Siola’a Fotu of Kolovai was selected as Treasurer with Hingano Hafoka of ‘Ahau as his assistant.

Other committee members include the Tongatapu People Representative No.5 Dr. ‘Aisake Eke, Town Officers from the other villages, selected women and men from adult and youths.


Issued by the: Ministry of Meteorology, Energy, Information, Disaster Management, Environment, Climate Change & Communications.


Who's Online

We have 470 guests online