Australian MPs visit Tonga

E-mail Print PDF

A parliamentary delegation from the Australian Parliament's Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters today called on the Hon. Speaker of Parliament Lord Lasike.

The four member delegation is headed by Australian Labour Party MP Hon Allan Griffin. Other MPs include Senator Helen Polley a Senator for Tasmania, MP for the Australian Capital Senator Gary Humphries Territory and Delegation Secretary Ms Samantha Mannette.

A statement from the Australia High Commission Office in Nuku'alofa say the main purpose of the tour is to examine the effectiveness of Australia's engagement in the Asia Pacific region Tonga included in providing governance and electoral support.

Reports from the Australian High Commission's office say before coming to Tonga MPs of the Joint Standing Comittee first travel to Indonesia.

"The role of the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters is to inquire into and report on such matters relating to electoral laws and practices and their administration as it may be referred to it by either House of the Parliament or a Minister," according to the statement.

While in Tonga the visiting MPs met with the Acting Prime Minister Hon. Samiu Vaipulu, People's   Representatives, civil society leaders, media commentators and the Electoral Commission and Boundaries Commission.

The group arrived Wednesday and leaves Tonga tomorrow.


Issued by the: Parliament of Tonga, Nuku'alofa, 2011.


Who's Online

We have 365 guests online